Easter Appeal

Gerard Manley Hopkins - let Him easter in us

 

I came across a stanza by Gerard Manley Hopkins, in which he uses Easter as a verb.

“Let him easter in us; be a dayspring to the dimness in us, be a crimson-cresseted east”

I’ve used his remarkable words in this poem – and credit him accordingly.

***************

Easter Appeal

i/

Come starspray of hope

balm for my blackened past

my baptism of fire

through which

unclad and unprepared

I sought a saving way.

ii/

Come wellspring of faith

spirit for my weary memories

my lost desert ways

through which

unconscious and unknowing

I searched the windswept dunes.

iii/

Come dawnwing of love

light for my lonely tomb

my longed locked lodgings

in which

unwelcome and unfulfilled

I made my failed acts of love.

iv/

Come ancient Easter-Man

Come easter in me

beyond the fires

the desert dunes

the long locked tombs

and failed acts of love…

be a dayspring to the dimness in me,

a crimson-cresseted east

arising from my darkness!

************

About chrisahrends

For me, writing is a healing art aimed at healing me - and if in any way it resonates with you - that would be wonderful. I live in Cape Town, South Africa; work in the Anglican Church of Southern Africa and am married to Jacqui Macqueen Ahrends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

